What Is India News Service
Saturday, July 30, 2005




Democracy, Government, Political Parties 

Chief Minister

Raman Singh (born 1952) is the current Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh, from the Bharatiya Janata Party.  He has been chief minister since December 7, 2003.


Unburdened by Governance legacies, Chhattisgarh has focused only on critical areas of law and order, education, health, environment, social safety nets, fiscal reforms and e-governance.  The State has become an enabler and facilitator for the creative energies of its people.  Government keeps out of all activities that can be done more efficiently by the private sector.  There are no more than six Public Sector Units, that too in critical areas of Social Concern.

To eliminate red tape and procedural hassles in getting all sorts of clearances, a special law has been enacted- the Chhattisgarh Investment Promotion Act, 2002.  This lays down statutory time limits for all clearances, to be given by a single Point-of-Investor Contact.  Facilitation services for the Investor and time bound approvals are thus guaranteed by law in Chhattisgarh.

'Chhattisgarh 2010' - the State's Vision Document lays out the five key actions of the State over the next 10 years and lays special stress on enhancing our human capital.  In order to translate the Vision into reality, six-monthly milestones have been prescribed; and we are well on our way to realize the Vision for Chhattisgarh - the Fast Track State.

The State cabinet meets every Tuesday and decisions come quickly.  All Government functionaries are easily accessible and Chief Minister has an hour - long Jan Darshan every morning where he meets people with no prior appointment.

Decentralized governance has been firmly established in Chhattisgarh.  Strong local governments in both urban and rural areas are halfway into their second term after elections under the 73rd and 74th amendments in 1994 and 1999.  Most social sector programmes are run by our Gram Panchayats and urban bodies.

The State secretariat has an organic linkage with the local governments in urban and rural areas, as well as district officials.  Quick reflexes and a lean bureaucracy ensure a hassle-free environment in Government offices.  The small size of government is reflected at all levels.  Fiscally prudent policies have ensured that there has been no overdraft from the Reserve Bank of India.  The State Government has maintained a cap of 40% on all establishment expenditure.

E-governance in Chhattisgarh is oriented towards ensuring people’s access to Government.  This makes the Government even more responsive and transparent.  People can access a video-conference based Public Grievance Redress System to interact regularly with the Chief Minister and other functionaries.  CHOiCE (Chhattisgarh Online information for Citizen Empowerment) is a State-wide e-governance project, being implemented by the focal agency for IT, CHiPS (Chhattisgarh infotech Promotion Society) headed by the Chief Minister.

To alleviate hassles that investors face in getting permissions, we have constituted a State Investment Promotion Board (SIPB) by a legislative Act.  The SIPB will be a single contact agency bound by law to issue all the required clearances within a definite time frame, or such clearances would be deemed granted to the investor.

For further details :

Chief Secretary, Government of Chhattisgarh
Mantralaya, Raipur- 492 001, Chhattisgarh, India
(+91-771) 221207 / 221208

Major National Political Parties in Chhattisgarh

Other Political Parties of Chhattisgarh State

Akhil Bharatiya Bharat Mata – Putra Paksha Lok Janshakti Party
Akhil Bharatiya Hindu Mahasabha Lokpriya Samaj Party
Akhil Bharatiya Jan Sangh Loktantrik Samajwadi Party
Akhil Bharatiya Manav Adhikar Dal Republican Party of India
Apna Dal Republican Party of India (Athvale)
Chhattisgarh Mukti Morcha Shoshit Samaj Party
Chhattisgarhi Samaj Party Samajwadi Janata Party (Rashtriya)
Gondvana Gantantra Party Yuva Gantantra Party 
Jai Prakash Janata Dal  



Home Page

Archives | Links | Search
About Us | Feedback | Guestbook

© 2005 Copyright What Is India Publishers (P) Ltd. All Rights Reserved.